Strategies

DII’s basic and applied research aims at fostering materials industrial development  and processing towards technological advancement and innovation. Most of the research projects are rooted in the steady cooperation with international research centres, universities and industrial partners.  Advanced research is performed by merging theorical  and experimental approach  to investigate the correlations  between  materials  structure and properties to best serve industrial developments and the uptake of new technologies.

  • Investing on the improvement and maintenance of  laboratories and experimental facilities
  • Investing on Human resources  Research staff,  Fellows and PhD students
  • Enhancing  and internationalizing  the Doctoral school in Materials  Engineering
  • Acquiring and running experimental research facilities  to implement a technological laboratory with equipments for material processing on the industrial or semi-industrial scale;
  • developing new processing technologies till the production of prototypes and pre-series;
  • updating facilities for  material analysis and characterization aimed at the development and the qualification of industrial products to foster the technological transfer .

The departmental  budget benefits by the broad network of collaborations providing revenues from industrial contracts and external funds.

Research areas

Most of the departmental activities  are performed in cooperation with international and national  partner universities and research centres.
Several research projectsare jointly developed with industrial partners worldwide.
Member’s core competencies  and research activities focus on:

  • Materialsproduction and optimization
  • Structural and functional materials  applications
  • Nanomaterialsand nanotechnologies

Relevant areas of applied research regard:

  • Biomedical technologies and applications
  • Agro-food technologies
  • Materials for energy and environment
  • Food processing industry
  • Materials and technologies for cultural heritage
  • Mechanical and Processing  Industry

Staff

Matteo Benedetti Associate Professor Progettazione meccanica e costruzioni di macchine
Renzo Campostrini Associate Professor Fondamenti chimici delle tecnologie
Riccardo Ceccato Associate Professor Fondamenti chimici delle tecnologie
Diego Giordano Bruno Colombo Associate Professor Metallurgia
Roberto Dal Maschio Full Professor Scienza e tecnologia dei materiali
Flavio Deflorian Full Professor Scienza e tecnologia dei materiali
Gianantonio Della Mea Full Professor Fisica della materia
Sandra Dirè Associate Professor Fondamenti chimici delle tecnologie
Luca Fambri Associate Professor Scienza e tecnologia dei materiali
Vigilio Fontanari Full Professor Progettazione meccanica e costruzioni di macchine
Stefano Gialanella Associate Professor Scienza e tecnologia dei materiali
Luca Lutterotti Assistant Professor Scienza e tecnologia dei materiali
Claudio Migliaresi Full Professor Scienza e tecnologia dei materiali
Alberto Molinari Full Professor Metallurgia
Antonella Motta Assistant Professor Bioingegneria industriale
Alessandro Pegoretti Full Professor Scienza e tecnologia dei materiali
Massimo Pellizzari Associate Professor Metallurgia
Alberto Quaranta Full Professor Fisica sperimentale
Stefano Rossi Assistant Professor Scienza e tecnologia dei materiali
Vincenzo Maria Sglavo Associate Professor Scienza e tecnologia dei materiali
Giandomenico Sorarù Full Professor Scienza e tecnologia dei materiali
Giovanni Straffellini Full Professor Metallurgia

 

Laboratories e Heads

Laboratories - ground floor Head Email
Operations Research Michele Fedrizzi michele.fedrizzi [at] unitn.it

Cultural Heritage Stefano Gialanella stefano.gialanella [at] unitn.it

Glass & Ceramics Gian Domenico Sorarù giandomenico.soraru [at] unitn.it

Materials  Chemistry Riccardo Ceccato riccardo.ceccato [at] unitn.it

Mechanical Design and Metallurgy Alberto Molinari alberto.molinari [at] unitn.it

Coatings and Industrial Corrosion Control Flavio Deflorian flavio.deflorian [at] unitn.it

Polymers and Composites Alessandro Pegoretti alessandro.pegoretti [at] unitn.it

Biomedical Technologies Claudio Migliaresi claudio.migliaresi [at] unitn.it

     
Laboratories - underground Head Email
MICRO & STRUCTURAL ANALISYS Stefano Gialanella stefano.gialanella [at] unitn.it

CHEMISTRY Sandra Dirè sandra.dire [at] unitn.it

MATERIALS  CHARACTERIZATION Massimo Pellizzari massimo.pellizzari [at] unitn.it

PROCESSING Luca Fambri luca.fambri [at] unitn.it

MECHANICAL TESTING Vigilio Fontanari vigilio.fontanari [at] unitn.it